Lost in Shadow — Pretty good PNR, but never make my MUST HAVE list with Nalini Singh, Thea Harrison, Ilona Andrews, Patricia Briggs, Dianne Duvall, etc.

Image

Once again, I just lost the long detailed review I wrote for this book. I’m trying not to grind my teeth. The dentist hates it when I do that. I REALLY have to go back to writing in Word and copying/pasting my reviews. Before I lose it altogether and throw the keyboard through a window or something in frustration. In advance, please let me say, pardon the sketchy quality of the following review — it is always harder to remember/recreate that it is to simply write.

Perhaps I will have the patience to rewrite my long version review later, but for now, let me skip to the end.

I was granted an e-ARC of this book in return for an honest review from Netgalley.com.

I would give LOST IN SHADOW by Cynthia Luhrs a 3.5-star rating if I could. VERY briefly (and QUITE simplified): Emily and her friend are vacationing in Scotland. When she sees a bloody murder that no one else can, Emily discovers she has a gift for seeing and interacting with the dead (ghosts). She becomes embroiled in a supernatural battle against overwhelming forces and falls in love with the brooding, embittered Colin.

I enjoyed it, but it just didn’t light my world on fire. Let me explain briefly: when I finish a book by one of my favorite authors, I am filled with a mixture of elation (for the book I just read) and an overwhelming desire for MORE (I WANT the next book!). In the area of paranormal romance, I’m talking about books (even the short stories/novellas of these writers do this to me) by Nalini Singh, Ilona Andrews (yes, that is more Urban Fantasy), Thea Harrison, Patricia Briggs, Dianne Duvall. The books on my MUST HAVE list are the books that I-can’t-possibly-wait-until-Monday-when-the-library-opens to read once the craving hits me. They are the books that I read over and over again with just as much pleasure as the first time (if not more). Lost in Shadow will never make that list, but it was a good read and I enjoyed it.

Pros and cons: I liked Emily and the snarky humor in her inner monologue. I like Colin and the other characters. I love the setting and the premise. This is the first book in a series (Shadow Walkers), and has a lot of exposition to carry in establishing the series’s overweening story arc and the continuing characters, as well as telling Emily and Colin’s story. Lost in Shadow doesn’t segue gracefully between these two necessities, jerking the reader from one pair of characters to another suddenly, pulling the reader (me at least) out of the story. There are some editorial errors that also jarred me from the story, but that is easily corrected.

To sum up: Lost in Shadow was a good read and I enjoyed the story, but it didn’t make me hungry for more. It’s not on my MUST HAVE list, but it was enjoyable. If you like the paranormal romance, with some thriller thrown in — go for it! I think the series may improve.

Leave a Reply

