Nalini Singh keeps readers riveted in the sixth Guild Hunter novel, Archangel’s Legion

Guild Hunter #6
Singh’s Guild Hunter series is an exotic blend of Gothic and grit. Highly recommended.

Angels are falling from the sky in New York, struck down by a vicious, unknown force.

Vampires are dying impossibly of disease.

Guild hunter Elena Deveraux and the Archangel Raphael must discover the source of the wave of death before it engulfs their city and their people, leaving New York a ruin and Raphael’s Tower under siege by enemy archangels.

Yet even as they fight desperately to save the city, an even darker force is stirring, its chill eyes trained on New York…and on Raphael. Rivers of crimson and nightmares given flesh, the world will never again be the same… (synopsis taken from Goodreads)

Archangel’s Legion reviewed.

Another taut tale from Nalini Singh. Every time I decide that I prefer one of her series over the other (Guild Hunter vs. Psy-Changeling), she writes a new book that puts me right back on the fence! Although her books are unfailingly sensual and plenty HOT, I appreciate that this book — unlike some of the others — remains focused on the story instead of constant interruptions for (unabashedly hot) sex scenes. Singh writes fantastic sex scenes. No question about it. They are creative and exciting, hot without being crass and suited (if you know what I mean) to the specific characters she is portraying. Not generic or one-fits-all. Her sex scenes also develop and showcase her characters, deepening the reader’s understanding of the people in the story.

However. In some of her books, the sex scenes were so frequent and lengthy that I was simply impatient to get back to the STORY. Points made. Characters developed. Let’s MOVE ON already. In fairness, that also points to Singh’s ability to craft a compelling, suspenseful story, but after a certain point, the sex scenes, no matter how well written, just felt gratuitous.

In Archangel’s Legion, I was happy to discover that Singh had trimmed the sex without losing the sensuality and intimacy of these characters. Don’t get me wrong, there is still plenty of sex and heat, just not SO much that it is such an irritant.

I’m going to avoid describing the plot of Legion, because I’m all too likely to say too much, and I hate spoilers, but it is a strong addition to the ongoing story of Elena, Raphael and company. It had the feeling of a bridge book to me, but stands just fine on its own.

Singh’s universe, ruled by Archangels supported by tiers of angels, vampires, and humans is clearly imagined and deftly realized from the beginning, and the reader’s understanding deepens and expands as the series progresses. This series doesn’t represent “just another vampire/angel/supernatural creature book.” This is an original, complete, complex world with it’s own “rules” and bureaucracy firmly in place. Singh’s Guild Hunter series is an exotic blend of Gothic and grit.

I highly recommend the Guild Hunter series to readers of Urban Fantasy and/or Paranormal Romance. Fans of Patricia Briggs, Ilona Andrews, Kresley Cole, Laurell K. Hamilton, Shelley Laurenston/G.A. Aiken, or Chloe Neill will enjoy Singh’s organic world-building and compelling, strong characters.

If you haven’t read the series, I strongly recommend beginning with the first book: Angels’ Blood. I also highly recommend trying her Psy-Changeling series, beginning with Slave to Sensation.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s